Skip to main content
NSW Government logo NSW Volunteering logo

Sign in to view your email alerts and activity

Youth Mentor

  • Location: Banyule VIC
  • Commitment: Regular - more than 6 months
  • Category: Young People
  • Time Required

    1hr per fortnight over a minimum of 12 months.

  • Suitable for
    • Groups of 10 or more
    • Wheelchair Access
  • Training

    Induction and training plus peer and professional support/development sessions.

  • Reimbursement

    petrol allowance, lunch/tea/coffee provided.

  • Requirements
    • Working with Children Check *
    • National Police Certificate *
    • Driver's Licence (C)

    Mentors must be:
    Interested in supporting a young person.
    Aged 21 and older.
    Non-judgmental, flexible, patient and reliable.
    Based in the local areas of Whittlesea, Nillumbik, Banyule, Darebin, Yarra, Moreland and Hume.

    * May be arranged via the Organisation. Details to be provided on expression of interest.

Are you interested in making a profound difference in the life of a young person in your local community?

We are seeking flexible, patient and reliable volunteers to mentor a young person aged between 11 to 17, through engaging in negotiated recreational activities for a couple of hours per fortnight. Activities may include walking in the park, visiting the local library, attending festivals, playing sports, cooking or going for a drive together

The program has been designed to enhance the young person's community engagement and connectedness, social and emotional well-being, sound decision making skills and general self worth through developing a relationship with a stable and positive adult role model.

Mentoring is proven to make a profound impact in the life of the young person and the wider community, with 90% of mentees developing a positive view of their future, an increase in 81% of mentees school attendance and a reduced likelihood of engaging with substance abuse by 78%.

Volunteer Mentors must be based in the local areas of Whittlesea, Nillumbik, Banyule, Yarra, Moreland and Hume.