Skip to main content
NSW Government logo NSW Volunteering logo

Sign in to view your email alerts and activity

Encounters 2020 Program - Australiawide - 4 March 2020 - 24 April 2021- 144838

  • Location: Geelong VIC, Devonport TAS, Hobart TAS, Newcastle NSW
  • Commitment: One off - an event
  • Category: Museums & Heritage
  • Time Required

    Full days (preferably)when program is in port from 9am till 5pm

  • Suitable for
    • Groups of 10 or more
    • People Learning English
    • People with disability
    • Skilled Volunteers
    • Travelling Volunteers
    • Work Experience
  • Type of work
    • Education & Training
    • Retail & Sales
    • Tour Guides, Information & Heritage
  • Training

    Full training is provided both online and in person.

Encounters 2020 is a program designed to recognise both the achievements of Cook’s 1770 scientific voyage, its lasting impact on Australia’s First Peoples and the nation as a whole.

The Australian National Maritime Museum’s program, Encounters 2020, will utilise this historic event to examine both its significance in Australian history and its enduring legacy from the dual perspectives of from the ship and from the shore. The replica Endeavour will be accompanied by an exciting travelling exhibition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait art that investigates the view from shore called Looking Back Looking Forward.

We are looking for volunteers to assist us in bringing the program to life in 29 locations around the country.

Full training is provided on all aspects of guiding and the Encounters program.

So if you are a good communicator, enjoy working in a team and are interested in helping our visitors have a positive experience, we encourage you to apply. We are seeking volunteers who are able to work in an energised and busy environment. Volunteers are required for a one off event or on a longer term basis.

Listed below are the dates we will be in your area, More information can be found on the Australian National Maritime Museum website.

Location Dates Geelong Wed 4 March - Sun 15 March 2020 Devonport Thurs 21 March - Wed 24 March 2020 Hobart Tues 31 March - Sun 12 April 2020 Kamay Sat 25 April - Sat 2 May 2020 Sydney Fri 1 May - Tues 5 May 2020 Newcastle Thurs 7 May - Tues 12 May 2020 Brisbane Sun 17 May - Tues 26 May 2020 Town of Seventeen Seventy Fri 29 May - Sun 31 May 2020 Gladstone Mon 1 June - Sat 6 June 2020 Mackay Tues 9 June - Mon 15 June 2020 Townsville Fri 19 June - Thurs 25 June 2020 Cairns Mon 29 June - Sun 5 July 2020 Cooktown Fri 24 July - Tues 4 August 2020 Darwin (Sept) Wed 16 September - Sun 27 September 2020 Darwin (Oct) Sat 10 October - Sun 11 October 2020 Broome Wed 21 October - Sun 25 October 2020 Port Hedland Thurs 29 October - Tues 3 November 2020 Carnarvon Tues 10 November - Sat 14 November 2020 Geraldton Thurs 19 November - Mon 23 November 2020 Fremantle (2020) Fri 27 November - Mon 7 December 2020 Fremantle (2021) Sun 3 January - Fri 15 January 2021 Bunbury Tues 19 January - Sat 23 January 2021 Albany Wed 27 January - Mon 1 February 2021 Esperance Fri 5 February- Tues 9 February 2021 Port Lincoln Wed 17 February - Sun 21 February 2021 Whyalla Thurs 25 February - Tues 2 March 2021 Port Pirie Thurs 4 March - Sun 7 March 2021 Port Adelaide Thurs 11 March - Sun 21 March 2021 Portland Fri 26 March -Wed 31 March 2021 Melbourne Sun 4 April - Fri 16 April 2021 Eden Wed 21 April -Sat 24 April 2021

Benefits: This is an exciting opportunity to be part of history as the Australian National Maritime embarks on this exciting program to mark the 250 years since Captain James Cook and HMB Endeavour chartered the east coast of Australia. This program aims to examine both its significance in Australian history and its enduring legacy from the dual perspectives of from the ship and from the shore.

Volunteering for the program will give you the opportunity to learn something new and different, meet a range of people,develop skills in communication and have fun in the community.

Volunteering with us is empowering. You will be helping with something that really does matter and can change lives.


Apply